top of page
NoitaNaisia_Punainen_Kuvaaja Ville Paul Paasimaa.JPG

NoitaNaisia is a musical opera written for two female singers, which had its first performance in Berlin in 1991. In addition to Germany, the work has been performed in e.g. in Austria and the United States.


NoitaNaisia deals with a woman's life; its pain points and difficult choices at different stages of life. A woman's life parallels the witches of fairy tales, myths, and beliefs. Themes include love, the difficulty of reconciling career and family, as well as witch hunts. The independent, sexual woman beyond the reach of male power is the modern-day witch, a terrifying creature that can no longer be defined in terms of historical, patriarchal society. She lives through her nine lives, her different life stages, grows old and moves towards her death as if guided by miraculous magical powers.

Composed by Danny Ashkenasi
Libretto: Peter Lund
Direction and translation: Anu Hälvä
Music arrangement and direction: Esa Ylönen
Set design: Camilla Nenonen
Costumes and choreography: working group
Musicians: Esa Ylönen (piano), Wiljami Salminen (guitar), Annu Laine (saxophone/clarinet)  


Anna - Emilia Vesalainen-Pellas (soprano)
Greta - Anne Korpelainen (alto)

Copyright: Litag Verlag, Munich
Translation rights: Anu Hälvä 
Production: NoitaNaisia working group 



1 h 45 min, including intermission

Age recommendation:



Performance language:



no subtitles

Tickets: 34,10€ basic ticket  • €29,60 pensioner • €25,60 student, conscript, unemployed

bottom of page